Movie Review: Brotherhood [taegukgi]

Posted: October 9, 2008 in Military, Movie Reviews, Reviews, Soldiers
Tags:

Brotherhood (Taegukgi hwinalrimyeo) is a Korean war film from 2004 by Je-gyu Kang.

Brotherhood is about two South Korean brothers forced into the Korean war in the 1950s to fight against North Korea.

It is amazing. Absolutely amazing! The battle scenes are powerful, spectacular, pull you in, force you right through the mangle on an extra fast spin and spit you back out in pieces, and emotionally shattered. This is a masterpiece and a thousand times better than any of the US war film that I know (and I know a lot), even my beloved Black Hawk Down.

Let me just say that much, because as you know, I don’t like to spoil in the slightest: I cried for a very long time, I sobbed my eyes out, in fact, I was so taken in and rattled, and I really, really felt for the characters and empathy for a character is the greatest compliment any author or director can receive. And trust me, I’m not a cry baby, but this film?

Wow.

Brotherhood on Amazon.co.uk

Brotherhood on Amazon.com

Comments
  1. rain411 says:

    Woah. Hey! You know about this movie!

    I LOVE THIS MOVIE. I have it. When it finally came out in the theaters in the states my friends and I watched it twice on screen. Although I’m already a big fan of war movies, this one was even more tremendously appealing to me because I’ve been in love with the actor who plays the older brother for, well, all my life. Nice choice. ^__^

Leave a Reply

