Publishing Announcement: Her Majesty’s Men

Posted: November 4, 2008 in Marquesate, Military Gay Erotic Fiction, Publishing, Writing
Tags:

her-majestys-men-image1 Her Majesty’s Men has finally seen the last edit run and ws sent off tonight to be proofread.

This means that I will prepare the file immediately once I receive it back, and will get it into the software, and then set the printing in motion.

Her Majesty’s Men will be published in paperback and will be available in December 2008. If there is demand I will also make an electronic version available.

I wrote Her Majesty’s men in 2003 and it was meant to be published in 2004. Now, 5 years later … at the end of 2008 I have to say that I learned something:

  • always, always, always publish a novel, short story, anything, really, straight away, because
  • if you don’t, you will look at it years later and groan at the style and almost rewrite it and
  • end up with endless edits that take months and months and months.

But I still love Tom and Alex as much as I did when I created them. 🙂 Without them there would be no Mr Marquesate, and they were the first characters I wrote who stayed with me for many years and who are still as strong in my mind as ever.

her-majestys-men-image2In Her Majesty’s Men, the two Royal Engineers Tom and Alex have no idea what is about to happen to them. They are soldiers, seemingly typical Army blokes, living and working in a complex universe of duty, adventure and friendship.

Throughout the story, these two squaddies learn to understand the meaning of loyalty and strength. Their fight for survival cutting through all the different worlds they live in, to tie them together in a unique bond of companionship, courage and trust.

Her Majesty’s Men is the story of two soldiers in the British Army and their unwavering friendship. From the revelation of personal secrets, ensuing hatred and aggression, through terror and danger, to proving loyalty, triumphant strength and courage, finally arriving at the realisation of what they are: comrades first and foremost, lovers secondly. In the face of the Army just two mates who are close.

Neither Alex nor Tom exist in a social vacuum. Their world is richly furnished within their military context, with family, friends and duties, and yet the story remains focused on these two soldiers and the growth of their friendship, which withstands the greatest threats to loyalty and demands the strongest display of courage and trust.

(Composite images by Marquesate, using photos and images © copyright their respective owners, without permission, including © Defence Image Database)

Comments
  1. Mountie says:

    Congratulations Marquesate 😀

    I. Can’t. Wait.

    😀 😀 😀 😀

  2. novea says:

    Oh, yay! I can hardly wait to read your book, and I’m excited it’s coming so soon. Just in time for Christmas, too. Sounds like you really slaved over it! But I’m intrigued by your statement that “without them there would be no Mr. Marquesate”. Methinks there must be an intriguing story behind that. Not that you have to tell, mind you, unless you *want* to. (^o^)

  3. Marquesate says:

    Thanks Mountie and Novea!

    Well, I guess I’ll have to tell the wee story of Tom and Alex as matchmakers one day, won’t I? 😉

  4. novea says:

    Oh, feel free to share, we are all friends here. ^_^ Here’s my take on how it went: Future Mr. Marquesate was a friend and you asked him for advice on the writing of your story; he offered to read and advise; he was captivated by the depth and feeling of said story, and knew you were more than just a pretty face. “I must know such a person more deeply”, he vowed to himself. Thus the start of a beautiful friendship! <3<3<3

    Was I close?

  5. Marquesate says:

    *snigger* Uhm …. no. Except for one important part. I did ask him with insider info, because I was writing HMM and he was a British soldier, after all.

    I shall write up the story on my LJ – f-locked … make sure you’re there to read it. 😀

  6. novea says:

    Wild horses couldn’t keep me away!

  7. Shanghi says:

    Congrats Marq! I am eagerly awaiting! 😀

    *comes in sets up camp*

    *unpacks kettle and starts water for tea*

    *sits back and waits for Mountie and the others*

  8. Mountie says:

    Excellent suggestion novea. I’d love to read the story behind Tom & Alex’s matchmaking.

    Marquesate… you don’t mind do you? The camp I mean, not the matchmaking. 😀

    We have about a month…

    *unpacks bergan, sets out sleeping roll*

    Shanghi did you bring the package labelled “For The Care And Feeding Of Author/Publisher”

    We wouldn’t want Marquesate to go without any special treats while working…

    Marq… while we are here Shanghi, landofthedragon and myself can always potter in your garden. 🙂

  9. Shanghi says:

    *looks in bergan*

    What you mean this one?

    *takes out package*

    *also pulls out various hand tools in a net bag and leather garden gloves*

    Okay, I’m ready! 😀

  10. Marquesate says:

    *checks in from the ‘wilds’ of England*

    Gosh, in two camps at once? I better hurry, then, aye? Cover art has been done and approved, file has been proofread halfway by this morning, so all is set for getting cracking next week!

    Soooo … what is in the special care parcel? *curious*

  11. Mountie says:

    Ummm… let’s see

    *opens pack, starts taking things out*

    Massage oil, coffee and tea, binkies, single malt scotch, chocolate bon bons, toothpicks (to prop your eyes open), comfy slippers, warm fleece jammies, colorful housecoat, a “Shhhh… Author/Publisher Working” sign, dress up outfit and dancing slippers for the “I’ve Done It!” celebration night and a chef to cook, a maid to clean and of course us to do your garden.

    Oh and a dry erase board and a pen for you to hang on your office door with “I Want….” across the top. 😀

  12. Marquesate says:

    Mmmmm Mountie, if that isn’t an incentive then I don’t know what is. 😉 Best I get cracking, aye?

    Is it okay if I hand the whisky to Mr Marquesate? Trust me, he’s very important, too, for the whole process. After all, where would I get the … ah … youknowwhat from, which are rather important for the working spirit? 😀

  13. Mountie says:

    Inspiration is always encouraged. 😉

    And I hope Mr. Marquesate enjoys it… the whiskey. 😀

Leave a Reply

