Movie Review: All Quiet on the Western Front

Posted: December 17, 2008 in Military, Movie Reviews, Reviews

allquietAll Quiet on the Western Front, the film adaptation by Lewis Milestone (1930) of Erich Maria Remarque’s indescribably brilliant book “Im Westen Nichts Neues” (All Quiet on the Western Front) is still the best war film (ANTI war film) of all times for me.

This might have to do with the fact that I read this book (in the original German of course) when I was a kid and it has forever stayed with me. If you ask me, it should be required reading for anyone. I re-read it every two years or so, it is one of the classics that I like to remind myself of.

Regarding the film, don’t bother with any other version, it has to be this early version from 1930, which grabs you by the throat, throttles you with its intensity and doesn’t let you go. Like the images of the reality of the atrocities of the Great war/WWI, this film pulls you in and gives you an idea of what it all meant and why it destroyed a generation which in return destroyed the next one and still echoes around with repercussions in my own.

DVD on Amazon.co.uk: All Quiet On The Western Front [1930]

DVD on Amazon.com: All Quiet on the Western Front [1930]

Book on Amazon.co.uk: All Quiet on the Western Front

Leave a Reply

