Short Story Announcement – French Foreign Legion “Code of Honour”

Posted: December 20, 2008 in French Foreign Legion, Marquesate, Publishing, Writing
Tags: , , , , ,

fll12Photo © its respective owner. Without permission.

Well, well, well, all this talk about the French Foreign legion … it did have to end up in me writing a story, didn’t it? I wrote a French Foreign Legion short story (not *that* short, actually, around 9.5k) for a print anthology that will be published by MLR press. It seems that they are pressing forward and hope to have a release date in January/February.

i-doThe story is called “Code of Honour” and is as much a story of coming of age of Joe, a young legionnaire, as it is about lust and eventually love – in an environment where being gay is forbidden. I dare you not to fall for Sergent Roux and his infuriatingly economic verbal communication … but who needs verbal anyway. “Code of Honour” is one of the more explicit stories, and the anthology has a nice mix of short and longer short stories, and different erotica levels.

The anthology is called “I Do” and all profits from this anthology will go to the Lambda Legal Fund, to help them fight the cause of marriage equality in the CA Supreme Court and beyond.

The following authors have donated the following stories to the anthology:

  • Desire and Disguise, Alex Beecroft
  • The Roaming Heart, Charlie Cochrane
  • Salad Days, Fiona Glass
  • Finally Forever, Jeanne Barrack
  • The Mistake, P.A. Brown
  • The Snow Queen, Erastes
  • Lindorm’s twin, Tracey Pennington
  • Outed, Clare London
  • Swansong, Sharon Bidwell
  • Making memory, Lisabet Sarai
  • Lust in Translation, Storm Grant
  • Code of Honour, Marquesate
  • Wedding Announcement, Lee Rowan
  • Tango and Temptation, ZA Maxfield
  • True Love, Moondancer Drake
  • Rules of the Game, Mallory Path
  • Semi-detached, Emma Collingwood
  • Holy Macaroni (and Cheese), Allison Wonderland
  • Templeton’s In Love, Jerry L. Wheeler
  • Better than beautiful, Cassidy Ryan and Zoe Nichols

P.S. The image is the cover. I didn’t come up with it … let’s face it, I probably would have snuck some camouflage in! 😀

Comments
  1. Mountie says:

    I know there has been a huge amount of discussion about the not so appealing cover elsewhere.

    I was surfing for images… as always and came across this one… do you think we can ask permission from the artist Joe Phillips to print an over cover to jacket our books? 😉

    Wedded Bliss

    or even this one? (I can’t remember who got this one or from where, it showed up in the Manlove Pic Thread in the Phade… if someone recognizes it please let me know so I can credit it)

    Yes I will

    Just a sugestion… 😀

  2. Marquesate says:

    Well, the cover is – like everything else – a matter of people’s taste. Some will like it, some won’t.

    I’m not so much into the first picture, a bit too cute for my taste, but I am rather fond of the second one. I’ve had it in my stash for years, but I always like ogling it! 😀

    Thing is, though, the anthology isn’t just about men, and thankfully so! So we couldn’t have had blokes on the cover.

  3. Mountie says:

    I am looking forward to the mix of both M/M and F/F stories. So I understand the need for a cover that represents all the stories.

    Still… *sigh*

    *goes back to searching for an appropriate unisex picture to make into an overjacket*

  4. Marquesate says:

    I just got the author proof copy and there are 20 stories in all: 4 stories F/F and 16 stories M/M. 🙂

  5. […] 27, 2008 by Marquesate As mentioned in an earlier post, I have a French Foreign Legion M/M short story “Code of Honour” in the forthcoming […]

Leave a Reply

