The joy of writing – for a good cause

Posted: March 17, 2009 in Marquesate, Military Gay Erotic Fiction, Publishing, Writing
Tags: , ,

msf_logo_300x300I sold a short story “Friendly Fire” (more about the story when I have a publication date) to Cleis Press and their anthology Special Forces (yes, I tittered at the title, too, for obvious reasons …) and I asked the editor to donate my payment directly to MSF. I got the contract back today with copies of the cheque and the donation page – from Marquesate for the US chapter of Medecins Sans Frontieres/Doctors without Borders.

How wonderful is that? I don’t think I can describe how fantastic it really is to have a creative talent and to use it not for your own gain, but for the greater good and to raise money with it for what is close to my heart. I am a staunch supporter of Medecins Sans Frontieres, because like the International Committee of the Red Cross they are that – international and everywhere. Oh, and I am so very relieved that the MSF staff were released in Darfur.

Thank you, thank you so very much to everyone who wants to read what I write, because of you, publishers want to publish what I write, and I can donate my royalties. Seeing that cheque going to MSF made this author here very happy, trust me in that. I missed my calling in life to work directly as a volunteer where it counts, but I can follow my calling in life to write for where it counts.

And since I am shameless when it comes to good causes, let me point you again to my fundraising page for MSF, especially if you have enjoyed reading Special Forces (not the anthology, but the epic!).

Thanks again.

Comments
  1. […] The joy of writing – for a good cause « Marquesate’s Camouflage … […]

Leave a Reply

